Holding on to hope…

I take a step everyday only to stumble back two,

But still I feel that I belong here, I do.

The terrified tears , the captivating  fear(s)

I felt my back against the wall,

It was more than I could bear.

But one fine day sunshine flooded through the small creak in the window,

And lit the dark and dampened room , that once smelled mellow.

The smiles were back and the spirit restored,

For there I was ,having found my ground.

Aah what a joy it was, what fulfilment, my thoughts ran merry

For I had found a purpose and it made me sing like a canary,

That had found a way to soar above the rest in the sky.

 But the year turned and sorrow sneaked in round the corner

Desperation lead to depression and apathy and I could no longer,

Hold on to the joys and the spirit that once bloomed

And as days turned into months, I felt my fate was doomed.

But I live in hope that the mistral will come with a clear sunny sky,

Again to inundate my soul with faith and zeal.

Till then remind myself that all pain will eventually heal.

I keep trying but as I do,

I take a step everyday only to stumble back two,

Yet I strongly believe that I belong here, I do!

 

Leave a Reply

