PhD journey over the years…

Today is the day which marks 60% of my Phd journey (considering it’s 5year tenure)! It’s been a bizarre year interspersed with intense joys and profound sadness.There were moments of unmatched euphoria and before I could cherish the trance,ambitions came crumbling down like a pile of ashen dreams.
I got promoted to SRF and got some accolades, but there were moments of utter hopelessness as I slipped into depression. But I rejoiced in my fellow scholars’ and seniors’ belief in me as I was bestowed with some responsibilities at a point when I was losing faith in my capabilities.
Productivity was a steep sine curve as I reached the zenith and came crashing underground. Phd teaches us a lot beyond the scholastic realms. I grew as a person,learnt some hard ropes of survival, and found out my flawed counterpart.
Maybe this lull was required for me to reflect on what’s important in life.I gained some and lost much more.I tried to clench my fist to hold on,but saw expectations slip through my fingers.
I got a great bunch of friends but somehow (maybe) lost out on my best one. This year showed me more than any year,the uncertainty of times. Be it work,relations or the expectancies. But it also made me realize that I was cut out for this field and I would rather be in lab 250 than any other place in the world!
3years has been a long toil,a lifetime of learning, some forever lessons, some remarkable memories and some unforgettable people. It has been one exhaustive and tremendously cherishable journey.

Two years ago on this day,I paced through the gates of IICB to be greeted by my “boss” outside our lab(?)..As the day unfolded,I remained numb letting the proceedings sink in.It wasn’t the lab that I had imagined-what lay in front of me were some dated,dilapidated wooden,furnitures sitting unattractively in a damped room.But as time rolled on,I found content in my heart for I had met a man who was far from the madding crowd of the other “species” of arrogant scientists.I happily and devotedly started loving my new abode…
Two years down the line,many things couldn’t stand the test of time and they started falling apart..there were complications,heartbreaks and betrayals but what stood out was my love for this lab..those emotions didnt change with time..
This is the place to be,my safe haven..I take refuge during days of despair,find solace when I become restless..Much has changed but my admiration for the “man” has just increased by leaps and bounds..his identity for me has changed and evolved,but the respect is intact…
This year I got a in-the-process-of-being-my-best friend in Wasim bhaiyya,a whole bunch of new friends thanks to our rigorous course work,recognition,love,care,momentary triumphs..
Two years of my PhD….its been a bitter sweet one..one bumpy joy ride!

One year ago on the 12th of September,I had walked into lab 14 a timid girl,fear gripping over as I took my first step into the uncertainty called PhD.Time flew and I metamorphosed into someone who is much more confident and decisive and much to the disbelief of most,loving every bit of PhD life!
Destiny has played spoilsport in maximum situations but I can’t thank her enough for giving me lab 14(now lab 250) and the ‘man’ at its helm.Blessed to have an advisor like him,wonderful labmates and a research life so beautiful! Cheers to 1year of my PhD!

Leave a Reply

