A full circle

If there is one festival I am attached to, it’s Eid. Growing up, I have been fortunate enough to get some amazing people who made this day of the year memorable for me. The lavish spread of food, the smell of atar, the rustle of new clothes..everything sits preciously stored in my mind.

But I had never imagined how one Eid later I would be looking at things in a new light. As the moon completed itself, my one year wait came full circle.
I’m unchained. I’m free. False promises, false people, false emotions, false hopes, false wishes doesn’t elude me.
My “beliefs” have fallen for my good. I have learned and wasted, staggered and fallen and I stand a different person; trading my vulnerability for indifference. A new identity.

Eid Mubarak.

Leave a Reply

